Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

‘SMH’ 2014 Best Young Novelists announced

The winners of this year’s Sydney Morning Herald (SMH) Best Young Australian Novelists Awards were announced at the Sydney Writers’ Festival (SWF) on 23 May.

The winners are:

  • Hannah Kent (Burial Rites, Picador)
  • Ballikaur Jaswal (Inheritance, Sleepers)
  • Luke Carman (An Elegant Young Man, Giramondo)
  • Fiona McFarlane (The Night Guest, Hamish Hamilton).  


The awards are open to writers aged 35 years or younger when their books are first published. This year’s awards were judged by SMH features editor Linda Morris, critic Peter Pierce and former Best Young Australian Novelist Jennifer Mills.

In an article on the four winners, Morris reports that Kent’s next project is a ‘historical novel set in Ireland’, Jaswal is working on ‘a dark comedic novel’ called Erotic Stories for Punjabi Widows, Carman is developing a stage performance of #Three Jerks and McFarlane is working on a short story collection.



Category: Local news


Transit Lounge Almost a Mirror