Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Australians on Frank O’Connor short story award longlist

Five Australians have been longlisted for the Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award.

The Australians longlisted are Tony Birch for The Promise (UQP), Catherine McNamara for Pelt and Other Stories (Indigo Dreams Publishing), Ben Peek for Dead Americans (ChiZine Publications), Abbas El-Zein for The Secret Maker of the World (UQP) and Ali Alizadeh for Transactions (UQP).

The longlist is made up of all eligible titles. The shortlist will be announced this month, with a winner announced in early July.

The €25,000 (AU$36,318) Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award is awarded annually for a short-story collection ‘published in English for the first time anywhere in the world’ in the previous 12 months. It is currently the world’s richest prize for a short-story collection.

If a translated book wins, the prize money is shared equally between author and translator.

View the full longlist here.



Category: Local news