Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Readings New Australian Writing Award 2014 shortlist announced

Readings has announced the titles shortlisted for its $4000 New Australian Writing Award.

The shortlisted titles are:

  • After Darkness (Christine Piper, A&U)
  • An Elegant Young Man (Luke Carman, Giramondo)
  • Foreign Soil (Maxine Beneba Clarke, Hachette)
  • Only the Animals (Ceridwen Dovey, Hamish Hamilton)
  • The Night Guest (Fiona McFarlane, Hamish Hamilton)
  • The Tribe (Michael Mohammed Ahmad, Giramondo).


Read the full judges’ report here.

Readings established the award in February 2014 to support published Australian fiction authors and ‘aims to increase the commercial success of first or second books by Australian authors’.

The judges are Readings managing director Mark Rubbo, books division manager Martin Shaw, Readings Monthly editor Belle Place and digital content coordinator Bronte Coates. They will be joined by Burial Rites author Hannah Kent.

The bookstore is inviting readers to take part in its New Australian Writing Award Reading Challenge by committing to reading the entire shortlist or the three-book challenge of reading any three titles on the shortlist. ‘Participants will have the opportunity to share their thoughts on the shortlisted books and win gift vouchers,’ said Readings.

The winner will be announced in late October.



Category: Local news