Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Samuel Johnson Prize 2014 shortlist announced

In the UK, the shortlist for this year’s Samuel Johnson Prize for Nonfiction has been announced. The shortlisted titles are: Roy Jenkins (John Campbell, Jonathan Cape), The Iceberg: A Memoir (Marion Coutts, Atlantic), The Empire of Necessity (Greg Grandin, Oneworld), Common People (Alison Light, Fig Tree), H is for Hawk (Helen Macdonald, Jonathan Cape) and Village of Secrets: Defying the Nazis in Vichy France (Caroline Moorehead, Chatto & Windus). The winner of the prize, worth £20,000 (A$36,560), will be announced on 4 November. See the longlist here. For more information about the prize, click here.



Category: International news