Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Oz, NZ authors and illustrators nominated for 2015 Astrid Lindgren Award

Four Australians and two New Zealanders have been nominated for the 2015 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award.

Australian authors Ursula Dubosarsky, Libby Gleeson, Morris Gleitzman and Mem Fox are among the 197 nominees for the 2015 award. Dubosarsky, Gleitzman and Fox were also nominated in 2014.

New Zealand author Joy Cowley and author and illustrator Lynley Dodd are also in the running for the award. Both Cowley and Dodd were nominated in 2014.

The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award is the largest international children’s and young adult literature award in the world and carries with it a cash prize of five million krona (A$970,946).

The winner of the 2015 award will be announced in March in Stockholm to coincide with the 2015 Bologna Children’s Book Fair.

Two Australian authors have previously won the Astrid Lindgren Award: author and illustrator Shaun Tan in 2011 and author Sonya Hartnett in 2008.

A complete list of nominees is available online here.



Category: Local news