Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

PM’s Literary Awards shortlists announced

The shortlists for this year’s Prime Minister’s Literary Awards have been announced.

The shortlisted titles in each of the categories are:


  • A World of Other People (Steven Carroll, Fourth Estate)
  • The Narrow Road to the Deep North (Richard Flanagan, Vintage)
  • The Night Guest (Fiona McFarlane, Penguin)
  • Coal Creek (Alex Miller, A&U)
  • Belomor (Nicolas Rothwell, Text)



  • Tempo (Sarah Day, Puncher & Wattmann)
  • Eldershaw (Stephen Edgar, Black Pepper)
  • 1953 (Geoff Page, UQP)
  • Drag Down to Unlock or Place an Emergency Call (Melinda Smith, Pitt Street Poetry)
  • Chains of Snow (Jakob Ziguras, Pitt Street Poetry)



  • Moving among Strangers (Gabrielle Carey, UQP)
  • The Lucky Culture (Nick Cater, Fourth Estate)
  • Citizen Emperor (Philip Dwyer, Bloomsbury)
  • Rendezvous with Destiny (Michael Fullilove, Penguin)
  • Madeleine: A Life of Madeleine St John (Helen Trinca, Text)


Australian History

  • Broken Nation: Australians in the Great War (Joan Beaumont, A&U)
  • First Victory: 1914 (Mike Carlton, William Heinemann)
  • Australia’s Secret War: How Unionists Sabotaged Our Troops in World War II (Hal G P Colebatch, Quadrant Books)
  • Arthur Phillip: Sailor, Mercenary, Governor, Spy (Michael Pembroke, Hardie Grant Books)
  • The Forgotten Rebels of Eureka (Clare Wright, Text)


Young adult fiction

  • The Incredible Here and Now (Felicity Castagna, Giramondo)
  • Pureheart (Cassandra Golds, Penguin)
  • Girl Defective (Simmone Howell, Pan Macmillan)
  • Life in Outer Space (Melissa Keil, Hardie Grant Egmont)
  • The First Third (Will Kostakis, Penguin)


Children’s fiction

  • Silver Buttons (Bob Graham, Walker Books)
  • Song for a Scarlet Runner (Julie Hunt, A&U)
  • My Life as an Alphabet (Barry Jonsberg, A&U)
  • Kissed by the Moon (Alison Lester, Puffin)
  • Rules of Summer (Shaun Tan, Hachette).


The winners in each of the categories will receive $80,000 tax-free, with the shortlisted authors to receive $5000 tax-free. The winners will be announced before the end of the year.

This year’s Prime Minister’s Literary Awards recognise the best in Australian fiction, poetry, nonfiction, history, young adult and children’s fiction published in 2013. The judging panels were announced in May. For more information about the awards, click here.



Category: Local news