Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Shortlist for inaugural Voss Literary Prize announced

The shortlist for a new Australian literary prize has been announced.

The Voss Literary Prize is a new award dedicated to the memory of historian Vivian Robert Le Vaux Voss. It is awarded to the best novel published in Australia in the previous year and carries prize money of $6500 in its first year.

The titles shortlisted for the award are:

  • Burial Rites (Hannah Kent, Picador)
  • The Night Guest (Fiona McFarlane, Penguin)
  • Barracuda (Christos Tsiolkas, A&U)
  • Eyrie (Tim Winton, Penguin)
  • The Swan Book (Alexis Wright, Giramondo).


The inaugural winner will be announced on 19 November at the University of New South Wales in Canberra.

The award trustees have appointed the Australian University Heads of English, the peak body for the study of English at Australian universities, to oversee and judge the award.

The judges for this year’s prize are Brenda Walker, Philip Butterss, Brigitta Oluba, Amanda Nettelbeck and Anthony Uhlmann.

For more information see the prize website here.



Category: Local news