Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Irish Book Awards 2014 winners announced

The winners of the 2014 Irish Book Awards were announced at a ceremony in Dublin on 26 November. Debut novelist Mary Costello won Novel of the Year for Academy Street (Text) and Graham Norton picked up Non-Fiction Book of the Year for his memoir The Life and Loves of a He Devil (Hodder & Stoughton). Also among the winners were Cecelia Ahern’s The Year I Met You (HarperCollins) for Popular Fiction Book of the Year, Louise O’Neill’s YA novel Only Ever Yours (Quercus) for Independent Newcomer of the Year, and Thomas Morris’ Dubliners 100 (Tramp Press) for Best Irish Published Book. Jeffrey Archer was presented with the inaugural International Recognition Award and Irish poet Paul Durcan received the Bob Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award. The Irish Book Awards are sponsored by Bord Gáis Energy and are the biggest celebration of Irish books and authors in Ireland. To see a full list of winners, click here.



Category: International news