Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Queensland Literary Awards 2014 winners announced

The winners of the Queensland Literary Awards were announced on 8 December at the State Library of Queensland.

The winning titles in each category are:


  • The Narrow Road to the Deep North (Richard Flanagan, Vintage)



  • 1914: The Year the World Ended (Paul Ham, William Heinemann)



  • Broken Nation: Australians in the Great War (Joan Beaumont, A&U)


Steele Rudd Award for a short story collection

  • Only the Animals (Ceridwen Dovey, Penguin)


Judith Wright Calanthe Award for a poetry collection

  • Earth Hour (David Malouf, UQP)


Young adult

  • The Cracks in the Kingdom (Jaclyn Moriarty, Pan)


Children’s (joint winners)

  • Refuge (Jackie French, HarperCollins) 
  • Rules of Summer (Shaun Tan, Lothian)


Emerging Queensland Writer Manuscript Award

  • We Come from Saltwater People (Cathy McLennon)


David Uniapon Award for an unpublished Indigenous writer

  • It’s Not Just Black and White (Lesley & Tammy Williams)


The Courier-Mail People’s Choice Queensland Book of the Year

  • How to do a Liver Transplant: Stories from My Surgical Life (Kellee Slater, NewSouth).


State librarian Janette Wright said the awards had ‘grown out of community support and a great love of literature’. ‘We are grateful for the continued goodwill for the awards and would like to thank and acknowledge the exceptional support of our key award partners the Copyright Agency Limited Cultural Fund, the Courier-Mail, the University of Queensland, Griffith University, the University of Southern Queensland, Claire Booth, the University of Queensland Press and the Queensland Writers Centre,’ she said.

This year’s winners were chosen from a list of 450 books and manuscripts.

Chair of the Queensland Literary Awards Stuart Glover said the winning and shortlisted books ‘remind us of the diverse things that books can do and the invention and creativity with which writers undertake their work’. 

‘The awards acknowledge the quality of contemporary writing and point readers towards works that might be of interest to them or important in helping us to think about who we are as a community,’ he said.

This is the first year the awards have been run by the State Library of Queensland. The Queensland Literary Awards were established and run by volunteers in 2012 following the axing of the Queensland Premier’s Literary Awards.



Category: Local news