Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards 2015 winners announced; ‘The Europeans in Australia: Volume Three: Nation’ wins Victorian Prize for Literature

Writer and historian Alan Atkinson has won the Victorian Prize for Literature, worth $100,000, for his book The Europeans in Australia: Volume Three: Nation (NewSouth).

Atkinson’s book is the final volume of his study into the history of Australia, which ‘takes readers on a journey from Federation to World War I and its aftermath’ from the perspective of European settlers. The first two volumes are published by Oxford University Press. The Europeans in Australia: Volume Three: Nation also won the award for nonfiction, worth $25,000.

The winning titles in each category are:


  • To Name Those Lost (Rohan Wilson, A&U)



  • The Europeans in Australia: Volume Three: Nation (Alan Atkinson, NewSouth)



  • The Beautiful Anxiety (Jill Jones, Puncher & Wattmann)


Young adult

  • The Protected (Claire Zorn, UQP)



  • Resplendence (Angus Cerini)


People’s choice award

  • Where Song Began (Tim Low, Penguin).


The winners were announced on 28 January at a ceremony in Melbourne attended by Premier Daniel Andrews and Minister for Creative Industries Martin Foley.

To see all the titles shortlisted for this year’s Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards, click here. For more information about the awards, visit the Wheeler Centre website.



Category: Local news