Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

WAYRBA 2015 shortlists announced

The shortlists for the 2015 West Australian Young Readers’ Book Awards (WAYRBA) have been announced.

The shortlisted titles in each category are:

Older readers

  • Dancing in the Dark (Robyn Bavati, Penguin)
  • Zac and Mia (A J Betts, Text)
  • Sweet Honey (Cathy Cassidy, Puffin)
  • The Maze Runner (James Dashner, The Chicken House)
  • The Bubble Wrap Boy (Phil Earle, Penguin)
  • A Waltz for Matilda (Jackie French, HarperCollins)
  • Loyal Creatures (Morris Gleitzman, Viking)
  • Splintered (A G Howard, Abrams)
  • The Freedom Merchants (Sherryl Jordan, Scholastic)
  • Maybe One Day (Melissa Kantor, HarperCollins)
  • The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl (Melissa Keil, Hardie Grant Egmont)
  • Storm (Brigid Kemmerer, A&U)
  • The Dying of the Light (Derek Landy, HarperCollins)
  • Son (Lois Lowry, HarperCollins)
  • Crashing Down (Kate McCaffrey, Fremantle Press)
  • Cinder (Marissa Meyer, Puffin)
  • A Corner of White (Jaclyn Moriarty, Macmillan)
  • My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece (Annabel Pitcher, Orion)
  • Fangirl (Rainbow Rowell, Macmillan)
  • Night Vision (Ella West, A&U)
  • Noggin (John Whaley, S&S)
  • Stung (Bethany Wiggins, Bloomsbury)
  • I am Malala (Malala Yousafzai, Orion)
  • The Wrong Boy (Suzy Zail, Walker Books)


Younger readers

  • The One and Only Ivan (Katherine Applegate, HarperCollins)
  • Joshua Dread (Lee Bacon, Hardie Grant Egmont)
  • Urban Outlaws (Peter Jay Black, Bloomsbury)
  • The Iron Trial (Cassandra Clare & Holly Black, Scholastic)
  • Weirdo (Anh Do, Scholastic)
  • Other Brother (Simon French, Walker Books)
  • Fortunately the Milk (Neil Gaiman, HarperCollins)
  • The 52-Storey Treehouse (Andy Griffiths & Terry Denton, Pan)
  • A Very Unusual Pursuit (Catherine Jinks, A&U)
  • My Life as an Alphabet (Barry Johnsberg, A&U)
  • Long Haul (Jeff Kinney, Puffin)
  • Timmy Failure, Mistakes Were Made (Stephen Pastis, Walker Books)
  • Tom Gates is Absolutely Fantastic (at some things) (L Pichon, Scholastic)
  • Wild Born (Brandon Mull, Scholastic)
  • The Curse of the Chocolate Phoenix (Kate Saunders, Scholastic)
  • The Extraordinary Education of Nicholas Benedict (Trenton Lee Stewart, The Chicken House)
  • The Menagerie (Tui L Sutherland & Kari Sutherland, HarperCollins)
  • Demon Dentist (David Walliams, HarperCollins)
  • Stick Dog (Tom Watson, HarperCollins)
  • The Forbidden Library (Django Wexler, Corgi Childrens)


Picture books

  • Dear Dad (Ed Allen & Simon Williams, Scholastic)
  • The Last King of Angkor Wat (Graeme Base, Abrams)
  • Noah Dreary (Aaron Blabey, Penguin)
  • Monster Chef (Nick Bland, Scholastic)
  • Don’t Push the Button (Bill Cotter, Sourcebooks)
  • The Day the Crayons Quit (Drew Daywalt & Oliver Jeffers, HarperCollins)
  • Pirates Love Underpants (Claire Freedman & Ben Cort, S&S)
  • What’s Your Story (Rose Giannone, Berbay)
  • Midnight (Mark Greenwood & Frané Lessac, Candlewick Press)
  • Imagine a City (Elise Hurst & Ben Emmerichs, Scholastic)
  • The Last Viking Returns (Norman Jorgensen & James Foley, Fremantle Press)
  • Engibear’s Dream (Andrew King  & Benjamin Johnson, Little Steps)
  • The Lost Girl (Ambelin Kwaymullina & Leanne Tobin, Walker Books)
  • One Minute’s Silence (David Metzenthen & Michael Camilleri, A&U)
  • How to Babysit a Grandma (Jean Reagan & Lee Wildish, Hachette)
  • Rules of Summer (Shaun Tan, Hachette).


The WAYRBA were established in 1970 and are voted on by young readers across Western Australia. To view the winning books in 2014, click here. For more information about the awards, click here.


Category: Local news