Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Ditmar Awards ballot announced

The shortlisted works for the Ditmar Awards ballot have been announced and voting has commenced.

The shortlisted works include:

Best Novel

  • The Lascar’s Dagger (Glenda Larke, Orbit)
  • Bound: Alex Caine Book One (Alan Baxter, HarperVoyager)
  • Clariel (Garth Nix, A&U)
  • Thief’s Magic: Millennium’s Rule Book One (Trudi Canavan, Orbit)
  • The Godless: Children Book One (Ben Peek, Tor)


Best Novella or Novelette

  • ‘The Ghost of Hephaestus’ by Charlotte Nash in Phantazein (FableCroft)
  • ‘The Legend Trap’ by Sean Williams in Kaleidoscope (Twelfth Planet)
  • ‘The Darkness in Clara’ by Alan Baxter in SQ Mag 14 (IFWG Publishing)
  • ‘St Dymphna’s School for Poison Girls’ by Angela Slatter in Review of Australian Fiction, Volume 9, Issue 3 (Review of Australian Fiction)
  • ‘The Female Factory’ by Lisa L Hannett and Angela Slatter in The Female Factory (Twelfth Planet)
  • ‘Escapement’ by Stephanie Gunn in Kisses by Clockwork (Ticonderoga)


Best Short Story

  • ‘Bahamut’ by Thoraiya Dyer in Phantazein (FableCroft)
  • ‘Vanilla’ by Dirk Flinthart in Kaleidoscope (Twelfth Planet)
  • ‘Cookie Cutter Superhero’ by Tansy Rayner Roberts in Kaleidoscope (Twelfth Planet)
  • ‘The Seventh Relic’ by Cat Sparks in Phantazein (FableCroft)
  • ‘Signature’ by Faith Mudge in Kaleidoscope (Twelfth Planet)


Best Collected Work

  • Kaleidoscope (ed by Alisa Krasnostein & Julia Rios, Twelfth Planet)
  • The Year’s Best Australian Fantasy and Horror 2013 (ed by Liz Grzyb & Talie Helene, Ticonderoga)
  • Phantazein (ed by Tehani Wessely, FableCroft).


See the full list of categories here.

The Ditmar Awards recognise achievement in Australian science-fiction, fantasy and horror. Voting for the awards is open to members of the 2014 Australian National Science Fiction Convention: Continuum 10, which was held in Melbourne on 6-9 June 2014, and the 2015 Australian National Science Fiction Convention: Swancon 40, to be held in Perth on 2-6 April. Voting closes on 22 May. The winners will be announced at the Swancon 40 convention in Perth.

To see the winners of last year’s awards, click here.



Category: Local news