Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Australian Crime Writers Association marks 20-year anniversary, partners with ‘KYD’

The Australian Crime Writers Association (ACWA) is celebrating its 20-year anniversary in 2015.

To mark the anniversary, ACWA has partnered with Kill Your Darlings (KYD) to publish the winner of the 2015 S D Harvey Short Story Award in KYD’s spring issue.

The $1000 award—which honours the late true-crime writer and television producer Sandra Harvey—is presented annually for a work of short crime fiction as part of the Ned Kelly Awards for Australian crime writing.

ACWA president Michael Robotham said other plans to mark the organisation’s 20th anniversary are in the works. ‘The [Ned Kelly] Awards will be a great party—and we’re hoping to get many former winners to the night,’ said Robotham. ‘We’d also like to do state-based dinners and get-togethers for members of the Australian crime writing community.’

This year’s awards will be announced at the Melbourne Writers Festival after two years at the Brisbane Writers Festival. Robotham said ACWA is hoping to keep moving the awards around the country to cement the reputation of the awards and the organisation as ‘truly national’. 

Entries for most categories in the Ned Kelly Awards can be submitted on the ACWA website before 31 March. Entries for the S D Harvey Award close on 15 June.



Category: Local news