Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Aurealis Award winners announced

The 2014 Aurealis Award winners were announced at a ceremony in Canberra on Saturday 11 April.

The winning titles were:

Fantasy novel

  • Dreamer’s Pool (Juliet Marillier, Pan Macmillan)


Science-fiction novel

  • Peacemaker (Marianne de Pierres, Angry Robot)


Young adult novel

  • The Cracks in the Kingdom (Jaclyn Moriarty, Pan Macmillan)


Children’s fiction

  • Shadow Sister: Dragon Keeper (Carole Wilkinson, Black Dog Books)


 Horror novel

  • Razorhurst (Justine Larbalestier, A&U)



  • Kaleidoscope: Diverse YA Science Fiction and Fantasy Stories (ed by Alisa Krasnostein & Julia Rios, Twelfth Planet Press)



  • The Female Factory (Lisa L Hannett & Angela Slatter, Twelfth Planet Press)


Graphic novel / illustrated work

  • Mr Unpronounceable and the Sect of the Bleeding Eye (Tim Molloy, Milk Shadow Books)


Fantasy short story

  • ‘St Dymphna’s School for Poison Girls’ (Angela Slatter, The Review of Australian Fiction, Volume 9, Issue 3)


Science-fiction short story

  • ‘Wine, Women and Stars’ (Thoraiya Dyer, Analog Volume CXXXIV, Nos 1&2 Jan/Feb)


Horror short story

  • ‘Home and Hearth’ (Angela Slatter, Home and Hearth, Spectral Press)


Young adult short story

  • ‘Vanilla’ (Dirk Flinthart, Kaleidoscope, Twelfth Planet Press).


The full list of 2014 finalists is available here.

To see the winners of last year’s Aurealis Awards, click here.


Category: Local news