Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

ALS Gold Medal longlist announced

The longlist for the 2015 Australian Literature Society (ALS) Gold Medal has been announced.

The longlisted titles are:

  • Amnesia (Peter Carey, Hamish Hamilton)
  • Golden Boys (Sonya Harnett, Hamish Hamilton)
  • Keeps (L K Holt, John Leonard Press)
  • The Golden Age (Joan London, Vintage)
  • Drones and Phantoms (Jennifer Maiden, Giramondo)
  • Earth Hour (David Malouf, UQP)
  • When the Night Comes (Favel Parrett, Hachette)
  • Nest (Inga Simpson, Hachette)
  • Merciless Gods (Christos Tsiolkas, A&U)
  • Heat and Light (Ellen van Neerven, UQP).


The works were chosen by Lyn McCredden, Sue Martin and Paul Salzman. A shortlist will be announced in May, ahead of the winner announcement at the Association for the Study of Australian Literature (ASAL) conference in July.  

The ALS Gold Medal is presented annually by the ASAL for a ‘work of outstanding literary merit’ published in the previous calendar year. As previously reported by Books+Publishing, Alexis Wright’s The Swan Book (Giramondo) won the 2014 ALS Gold Medal.



Category: Local news