Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

NSW Premier’s Literary Awards 2015 shortlists announced

The shortlists for this year’s New South Wales Premier’s Literary Awards have been announced.

The shortlisted titles in each of the categories are:

Christina Stead Prize for Fiction

  • Only the Animals (Ceridwen Dovey, Hamish Hamilton)
  • In Certain Circles (Elizabeth Harrower, Text)
  • Golden Boys (Sonya Hartnett, Hamish Hamilton)
  • The Snow Kimono (Mark Henshaw, Text)
  • The Golden Age (Joan London, Vintage)
  • A Million Windows (Gerald Murnane, Giramondo)


UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing

  • The Tribe (Michael Mohammed Ahmad, Giramondo)
  • Foreign Soil (Maxine Beneba Clarke, Hachette)
  • The Strays (Emily Bitto, Affirm)
  • An Elegant Young Man (Luke Carman, Giramondo)
  • Here Come the Dogs (Omar Musa, Hamish Hamilton)
  • Heat and Light (Ellen van Neerven, UQP)


Douglas Stewart Prize for Nonfiction

  • The Europeans in Australia (Alan Atkinson, NewSouth)
  • Citizen Emperor: Napoleon in Power 1799‐1815 (Philip Dwyer, Bloomsbury)
  • This House of Grief (Helen Garner, Text)
  • The Reef: A Passionate History (Iain McCalman, Viking)
  • In My Mother’s Hands (Biff Ward, A&U)
  • The Bush (Don Watson, Hamish Hamilton)


Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry

  • A Vicious Example (Michael Aiken, Grand Parade)
  • Devadetta (Judith Beveridge, Giramondo)
  • Kin (Anne Elvey, Five Islands Press)
  • Wild (Libby Hart, Pitt Street Poetry)
  • Unbelievers, or The Moor (John Mateer, Giramondo)
  • Earth Hour (David Malouf, UQP)


Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children’s Literature

  • The First Voyage (Allan Baillie, Puffin)
  • Rivertime (Trace Balla, A&U)
  • Figgy in the World (Tamsin Janu, Omnibus)
  • The Duck and the Darklings (Glenda Millard & Stephen Michael King, A&U)
  • Crossing (Catherine Norton, Omnibus)
  • The Adventures of Sir Roderick the Not‐Very Brave (James O’Loghlin, Pan Macmillan)


Ethel Turner Prize for Young Adult’s Literature

  • Book of Days (K A Barker, Pan Macmillan)
  • The Road to Gundagai (Jackie French, HarperCollins)
  • Are You Seeing Me? (Darren Groth, Woolshed Press)
  • Razorhurst (Justine Larbalestier, A&U)
  • The Cracks in the Kingdom (Jaclyn Moriarty, Pan Macmillan)
  • Cracked (Clare Strahan, A&U)


Betty Roland Prize for Scriptwriting

  • The Code Episode 1 (Shelley Birse, Playmaker Media)
  • Upper Middle Bogan Season 1, Episode 8: The Nationals (Robyn Butler & Wayne
  • Hope, Gristmill)
  • The Babadook (Jennifer Kent, Causeway)
  • Fell, Natasha Pincus Story (Kasimir Burgess & Natasha Pincus, Felix Media)
  • Please Like Me Season 2, Episode 7: Scroggin (Josh Thomas)
  • Once My Mother (Sophia Turkiewicz, Change Focus Media)


Nick Enright Prize for Playwriting

  • Brothers Wreck (Jada Alberts, Currency Press)
  • The Sublime (Brendan Cowell, Melbourne Theatre Company)
  • Jasper Jones (Kate Mulvany, adapted from a novel by Craig Silvey, Barking Gecko
  • Theatre Company)
  • The Trouble with Harry (Lachlan Philpott, TheatreofplucK Belfast/MKA New Writing Theatre)
  • Kryptonite (Sue Smith, Sydney Theatre Company)
  • Black Diggers (Tom Wright, Queensland Theatre Company)


The NSW Premier’s Prize for Translation

  • James Mark Quentin Davies
  • Meredith McKinney
  • Brian Nelson
  • Royall Tyler


Multicultural NSW Early Career Translator Prize

  • Ouyang Yu
  • Lilit Zekulin Thwaites


Community Relations Commission for Multicultural NSW

  • Jump for Jordan (Donna Abela, Griffin Theatre Company)
  • Black and Proud: The Story of an AFL Photo (Matthew Klugman & Gary Osmond, NewSouth)
  • Refugees (Jane McAdam & Fiona Chong, UNSW Press)
  • I, Migrant: A Comedian’s Journey from Karachi to the Outback (Sami Shah, A&U)
  • The Tainted Trial of Farah Jama (Julie Szego, Wild Dingo Press)
  • Once My Mother (Sophia Turkiewicz, Change Focus Media).


The winners of this year’s awards will be announced on 18 May as part of the Sydney Writers’ Festival.

The Multicultural NSW Early Career Translator Prize, worth $5000, will be awarded for the first time in 2015. Details about voting for the People’s Choice Award will be announced next week.

In order to be eligible for this year’s awards, all works must have been first published, performed, broadcast or screened between 1 October 2013 and 30 September 2014.



Category: Local news