Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

St John Mandel wins 2015 Arthur C Clarke Award

Canadian author Emily St John Mandel has won the 2015 Arthur C Clarke Award for science-fiction writing for her novel Station Eleven (Picador). St John Mandel’s book was chosen from a shortlist of six, which also included: The Girl with All the Gifts (M R Carey, Orbit); The Book of Strange New Things (Michel Faber, Canongate); Europe in Autumn (Dave Hutchinson, Solaris); Memory of Water (Emmi Itäranta, HarperVoyager); and The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August (Claire North, Orbit). St John Mandel was announced as the winner at a ceremony in London on 6 May, receiving a prize of £2015 (A$3850). Chair of judges Andrew Butler said: ‘While many post-apocalypse novels focus on the survival of humanity, Station Eleven focuses instead on the survival of our culture, with the novel becoming an elegy for the hyper-globalised present.’ St John Mandel’s novel was also longlisted for the Baileys women’s prize in the UK and was a finalist for the National Book Awards in the US.


Category: International news