Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Miles Franklin Literary Award 2015 shortlist announced

The shortlist for this year’s Miles Franklin Literary Award has been announced.

The shortlisted titles are:

  • Golden Boys (Sonya Hartnett, Hamish Hamilton)
  • The Eye of the Sheep (Sofie Laguna, A&U)
  • The Golden Age (Joan London, Vintage)
  • After Darkness (Christine Piper, A&U)   
  • Tree Palace (Craig Sherborne, Text). 


The shortlist was announced at the Australian Booksellers Association Conference at the State Library of Victoria and the longlist was announced in March. Each shortlisted author receives $5000 from the Copyright Agency’s Cultural Fund. The winner, who receives $60,000, will be announced on 23 June. 

State Library of NSW Mitchell librarian Richard Neville said on behalf of the judging panel: ‘The 2015 Miles Franklin shortlist presents a powerful group of Australian novels with a rich cast of unforgettable characters, and themes ranging from childhood gangs and domestic violence to itinerant thieves, wartime internment and the post-war polio epidemic.’

The judging panel comprises Neville; journalist Murray Waldren; bookseller Lindy Jones; author, editor and Queensland Writers Centre founding chair Craig Munro; and Flinders University emeritus professor Susan Sheridan.

Last year’s award was presented to Evie Wyld for All the Birds, Singing (Vintage). For more information on this year’s shortlist, click here.



Category: Local news