Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Ernest Scott Prize 2015 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 2015 Ernest Scott Prize for history, presented by the University of Melbourne’s Faculty of Arts, has been announced.

The shortlisted titles are:

  • A Bloody Road Home: WWII and New Zealand’s Heroic Second Division (Christopher Pugsley, Penguin)
  • Tangata Whenua: An Illustrated History (Atholl Anderson, Judith Binney & Aroha Harris, Bridget Williams Books)
  • Homefront Hostilities: The First World War and Domestic Violence (Elizabeth Nelson, Australian Scholarly Publishing)
  • The Europeans in Australia: Volume 3: Nation (Alan Atkinson, UNSW Press)
  • Richard Seddon, King of God’s Own: The Life and Times of New Zealand’s Longest-Serving Prime Minister (Tom Brooking, Penguin).


The Ernest Scott Prize is worth $13,000 and is awarded annually to a work based on original research that contributes to the history of Australia or New Zealand or to the history of colonisation. In 2014, the prize was awarded to Angela Wanhalla for Matters of the Heart: A History of Interracial Marriage in New Zealand (Auckland University Press).

The winner of this year’s prize will be announced on 9 July at the Australian Historical Association’s annual conference.

For more information about the shortlist, click here.


Category: Local news