Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

ALA Andrew Carnegie Medals 2015 winners announced

In the US, the American Library Association (ALA) has announced the winners of the 2015 Andrew Carnegie Medals. Anthony Doerr won the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction for his novel All The Light We Cannot See (HarperCollins), which also won this year’s Pulitzer Prize, and Bryan Stevenson picked up the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction for Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption (Scribe). The winning authors each receive a US$5000 (A$6561) prize, while the two other finalists in each category receive a US$1500 (A$1969) prize. Now in its fourth year, the Andrew Carnegie Medals were established to ‘recognize the best fiction and nonfiction books for adult readers published in the US’ in the previous year and are announced at the annual ALA conference. For more information about the awards, click here.



Category: International news