Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Ngaio Marsh Award 2015 shortlist announced

Five books have been shortlisted for the 2015 Ngaio Marsh Award for Best Crime Novel by a New Zealand writer.

The shortlisted titles are:

  • Five Minutes Alone (Paul Cleave, Penguin NZ)
  • The Petticoat Men (Barbara Ewing, Head of Zeus)
  • Swimming in the Dark (Paddy Richardson, Upstart Press / Pan Macmillan Australia)
  • The Children’s Pond (Tina Shaw, Pointer Press)
  • Fallout (Paul Thomas, Upstart Press / Bitter Lemon Press).


Judging convenor Craig Sisterson said the shortlisted titles are ‘a superb showcase of New Zealand writing talent’. ‘The shortlist contains a diverse range of styles and stories, but each book melds page-turning entertainment with an undercurrent of deeper issues that go the very heart of our communities and society,’ said Sisterson.

Nine titles were previously longlisted for the prize.

The winner, who will receive a trophy, a set of Ngaio Marsh novels courtesy of HarperCollins and a cash prize provided by the Christchurch Writers Festival Trust, will be announced at a ceremony in Christchurch in late September.

Established in 2010, the Ngaio Marsh Award is awarded annually for the best crime, mystery or thriller novel written by a New Zealand citizen or resident.



Category: Local news