Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

NZ Children’s Book Awards 2015 winners announced

The winners of the 2015 New Zealand Children’s Book Awards have been announced. The winning titles in each category are:

Margaret Mahy Book of the Year

  • Singing Home the Whale (Mandy Hager, Random House)


Picture books

  • Jim’s Letters (Glyn Harper & Jenny Cooper, Puffin)



  • Mōtītī Blue and the Oil Spill (Debbie McCauley & Sarah Elworthy, Mauao)


Young adult fiction

  • Singing Home the Whale (Mandy Hager, Random House)


Junior fiction

  • Monkey Boy (Donovan Bixley, Scholastic)


Maori language

  • Ngā Ki (Sacha Cotter, illus by Joshua Morgan, translated by Kawata Teepa, Huia).


The winning authors each receive NZ$7500 (A$6666), with the exception of the Maori language award, which is worth NZ$1000 (A$889).

The winners of the Children’s Choice Awards were also announced. They are:

Picture books

  • The Anzac Puppy (Peter Millett, illus by Trish Bowles, Scholastic)



  • The Letterbox Cat & Other Poems (Paula Green, illus by Myles Lawford, Scholastic)


Junior fiction

  • Island of Lost Horses (Stacy Gregg, HarperCollins)


Young adult

  • Night Vision (Ella West, A&U).


The winning authors each receive NZ$1000 (A$889).

The winners were announced at an awards ceremony in Wellington on 13 August. The Children’s Book Awards were judged by Bob Docherty, Annemarie Florian, Fiona Mackiewith and Stephanie Pohe-Tibble, and chosen from a shortlist announced in June. The Children’s Choice Awards were chosen by young New Zealand readers with more than 16,000 votes cast.

The awards, now in their 25th year, were previously known as the New Zealand Post Children’s Book Awards before The Post Group withdrew its sponsorship in October last year. This year the awards are sponsored by Creative NZ, Book Tokens Ltd, Copyright Licensing Limited New Zealand and Nielsen Book Services, with further support from publishers, and are administered by a trust comprised of members from the Publishers Association of New Zealand (PANZ), the New Zealand Society of Authors (NZSA) and Booksellers New Zealand. 

For more information about the awards, visit the Booksellers NZ website here.


Category: Junior Local news