Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

NSW Premier’s History Awards 2015 shortlists announced

The shortlists for the 2015 New South Wales Premier’s History Awards have been announced.

The shortlisted titles in each category are:

Australian History Prize ($15,000)

  • The Bush (Don Watson, Hamish Hamilton)
  • The Europeans in Australia: Volume 3: Nation (Alan Atkinson, UNSW Press)
  • Where Song Began: Australia’s Birds and How They Changed the World (Tim Low, Viking)


Australian First World War History Prize (commemorative medallion)

  • Anzac: The Unauthorised Biography (Carolyn Holbrook, NewSouth)
  • Homefront Hostilities: The First World War and Domestic Violence (Elizabeth Nelson, Australian Scholarly Publishing)
  • The Lost Legions of Fromelles (Peter Barton, A&U)


General History Prize ($15,000)

  • Crisis of the Wasteful Nation: Empire and Conservation in Theodore Roosevelt’s America (Ian Tyrrell, University of Chicago Press)
  • Intolerant Bodies: A Short History of Autoimmunity (Warwick Anderson & Ian R Mackay, Johns Hopkins University Press)
  • Wild Man from Borneo: A Cultural History of the Orangutan (Robert Cribb, Helen Gilbert & Helen Tiffin, University of Hawai’i Press)


NSW Community and Regional History Prize ($15,000)

  • Leisure Space: The Transformation of Sydney 1945‐1970 (Judith O’Callaghan & Paul Hogben, NewSouth)
  • The Broken Promise of Agricultural Progress: An Environmental History (Cameron Muir, CSIRO Publishing)
  • The Luck of the Irish: How a Shipload of Convicts Survived the Wreck of the Hive to Make a New Life in Australia (Babette Smith, A&U)


Young People’s History Prize ($15,000)

  • A‐Z of Convicts in Van Diemen’s Land (Simon Barnard, Text)
  • Lennie the Legend: Solo to Sydney by Pony (Stephanie Owen Reeder, NLA Publishing)
  • My Gallipoli (Ruth Starke & Robert Hannaford, (Penguin)


Multimedia History Prize ($15,000)

  • A History of Forgetting: From Shellshock to PTSD (Lorena Allam & Timothy Nicastri, ABC Radio National)
  • Brilliant Creatures (Dan Goldberg & Margie Bryant, Mint Pictures)
  • The Dalfram Dispute 1938: Pig Iron Bob (Sandra Pires, Why Documentaries).


Eight judges considered 180 entries across the six categories. To be eligible for the awards, books must have been first published between 1 April 2014 and 31 March 2015.

The Australian First World War History Prize has been included this year to commemorate the centenary of World War I. The prize ‘acknowledges the work of historians in marking, interpreting and understanding our nation’s involvement in the First World War’.

The winners will be announced at the State Library of NSW on 4 September to mark the beginning of NSW History Week.

For more information about the awards, visit the State Library of NSW website here.


Category: Local news