Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Colin Roderick Award 2015 shortlist announced

The finalists for the $10,000 Colin Roderick Award and H T Priestley Memorial Medal, administered by the Foundation for Australian Literary Studies at James Cook University, have been announced.

The seven shortlisted titles are:

  • The Europeans in Australia: Volume 3: Nation (Alan Atkinson, UNSW Press)
  • Six (John Clanchy, Finlay Lloyd)
  • This House of Grief (Helen Garner, Text)
  • In Certain Circles (Elizabeth Harrower, Text)
  • The Golden Age (Joan London, Vintage)
  • The Bush (Don Watson, Hamish Hamilton)
  • Wild Bleak Bohemia (Michael Wilding, Australian Scholarly Publishing).


The award and medal are presented to the title the judges determine is ‘the best book that is published in Australia in the previous calendar year, which deals with any aspect of Australian life’.

The winner will be announced in Townsville in late October. For more information, visit the website here.


Category: Local news