Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Sadokierski replaces Ross as ABDA president

Designer and university lecturer Zoë Sadokierski has been appointed president of the Australian Book Designers Association (ABDA).

Sadokierski replaces outgoing president Alex Ross in the role. Scribe art director Miriam Rosenbloom was appointed vice-president, joining Mark Campbell, W H Chong, Andrew Egan, Daniel New, Matt Stanton and Lisa White on the committee.

In a statement, Sadokierski thanked Ross for his ‘thoughtful and straight-shooting approach’ during his tenure. ‘The next few months will be an exciting time for the association,’ said Sadokierski. ‘We are hosting our first international guest, British design superstar David Pearson, in Sydney and Melbourne in late August. A new website, coming soon, will become an important hub for the book design community and a fantastic tool to showcase and advocate for the work of Australian designers.’

ABDA was founded in March 2014 to administer the Australian Book Design Awards, taking over the responsibility of running the awards from the Australian Publishers Association.


Category: Local news