Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

RWA awards 2015 winners announced

The winners of the 2015 Romance Writers of Australia (RWA) Romantic Book of the Year awards, known as the ‘RUBYs’, were announced on 22 August at the RWA’s 24th national conference in Melbourne.

The winners of the awards in each category were:

‘Short sweet’

  • Waves of Temptation (Marion Lennox, Mills & Boon)


‘Short sexy’

  • Damaso Claims His Heir (Annie West, Mills & Boon)


‘Long romance’

  • Risky Business (Amy Andrews, Escape)


‘Romantic elements’

  • The Lace Balcony (Johanna Nicholls, S&S) 


Also awarded on the night were the Valerie Parv Award for an unpublished romance novel, which went to Carly Main for Memento Mori; the Emerald Award for best unpublished manuscript, which went to P J Vye for The Hermit Next Door; and the newly created Emerald Pro Award for the best unpublished manuscript by a published author writing in a new genre, which went to Heidi Catherine for The Soul Weaver.

The Ella award for best published novella was tied between Anna Hackett for Beneath a Trojan Moon and Anna Campbell for Her Christmas Earl (both self-published).

Danielle Binks won the Romance Media Award (ROMA), which recognises professional, positive media coverage of the romance industry, for her Daily Life opinion piece ‘Things no one tells you about romance readers’, while the Lynne Wilding Meritorious Service Award went to Diane Curran.

The awards also honoured Jennifer Brassel with a Life Member Award and inducted her into the RWA Hall of Fame for an outstanding career in romance writing.

The full list of awards is available on the RWA blog here.



Category: Local news