Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

2015 Sidney Myer Creative Fellows Announced

Writers Alexis Wright, Courtney Collins and Marieke Hardy are among 10 artists to be awarded 2015 Sidney Myer Creative Fellowships, each worth $160,000 over two years.

Wright is the author of three novels, including Carpentaria (Giramondo), which won the Miles Franklin Literary Award in 2006. Her most recent novel, The Swan Book (Giramondo), was awarded the ALS Gold Medal for Fiction and was shortlisted for the Miles Franklin Award and the Stella Prize, among others.

Collins is the author of The Burial (A&U), which was shortlisted for the Vogel award in 2009 and following publication was shortlisted for a number of awards, including the NSW Premier’s Award for Fiction and the Stella Prize.

As well as work in the theatre, TV and live art, Marieke Hardy is a regular panellist on the ABC’s The Book Club, a co-curator of the ‘Women of Letters’ literary events and is the author of an essay collection You’ll Be Sorry When I’m Dead (A&U).

The Sidney Myer Creative Fellowships are awarded to individuals in the humanities for ‘outstanding talent and exceptional professional courage’ and are not tied to specific projects. The other recipients of this year’s fellowships include visual artists, musicians, dancers, producers and composers.

For more information about the fellows, click here.


Category: Local news