Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Davitt Awards 2015 winners announced

Sisters in Crime has announced the winners of the 2015 Davitt Awards for the best crime books by Australian women.

The winning titles in each category are:

Adult novel 

  • Big Little Lies (Liane Moriarty, Pan)


Young adult novel 

  • Every Word (Ellie Marney, A&U)


Children’s novel 

  • Withering-by-Sea (Judith Rossell, ABC Books)


True crime book 

  • Last Woman Hanged (Caroline Overington, HarperCollins)


Best debut book (in any category) 

  •  Intruder (Christine Bongers, Woolshed Press)


Sandi Wallace won the Davitt Readers’ Choice award for Tell Me Why (Clan Destine Press), as voted on by the 660 Sisters in Crime members. The winners were announced by UK crime writer Sophie Hannah on 19 August in Melbourne.

The judging panel comprised Maggie Baron, Deborah Crabtree, Jacqui Horwood, Sylvia Loader, Michaela Lobb and Shelley Robertson. A record 96 books were on the Davitt Awards longlist, now in their 15th year. See the shortlists here.


Category: Local news