Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Richell Prize longlist announced

The longlist for Hachette Australia’s inaugural Richell Prize for Emerging Writers has been announced.

The longlisted authors are:

  • Sally Abbott
  • Toni Bartlett
  • Alice Bishop
  • Lyndel Caffrey
  • Jeremy Clarke
  • Bronte Coates
  • Nicole Crowe
  • Andre Dao
  • Leah De Forest
  • Susie Greenhill
  • Elizabeth Kuiper
  • Brodie Lancaster
  • Dasha Maiorova
  • Mia-Francesca McAuslan
  • Tim McGuire
  • Jonathan O’Brien
  • Ellena Savage
  • Veronica Sullivan
  • Rafael S W
  • Paul Verhoeven
  • Jessica Yu.


Hachette launched the Richell Prize in May in partnership with the Emerging Writers Festival (EWF) and the Guardian. Applicants were required to submit the first three chapters and a synopsis of a proposed work of adult fiction or narrative nonfiction, with the winner to receive $10,000 and mentoring from a Hachette publisher to help develop the work to publication.

As previously reported by Books+Publishing, Hachette received 975 entries for the prize, about four times as many as the publisher had been expecting. The judges are author and Richell’s widow Hannah Richell, Potts Point Bookshop bookseller Megan O’Brien, former EWF festival creative director Sam Twyford-Moore, Guardian culture editor Nancy Groves and Hachette publisher Robert Watkins.

The shortlist will be announced on 21 September and the winner will be announced at an event in Sydney on 29 October. For more information about the prize, click here.


Category: Local news