Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Winners announced for 2015 NSW Premier’s History Awards

The winners of the NSW Premier’s History Awards have been announced as part of the official launch of NSW History Week.

The awards, which total $75,000 in prize money, incorporated an Australian First World War History Prize in 2015 to commemorate the centenary of World War I, in addition to the existing five categories. The special prize acknowledged ‘the work of historians in interpreting and understanding our nation’s involvement in the First World War’.

Commemorative medals were awarded to joint winners Carolyn Holbrook for Anzac: The Unauthorised Biography (NewSouth) and Peter Barton for Lost Legions of Fromelles (A&U).

Winners in the other categories (each worth $15,000) were:

Australian History Prize

  • The Europeans in Australia: Volume 3: Nation (Alan Atkinson, UNSW Press)


General History Prize

  • Intolerant Bodies: A Short History of Autoimmunity (Warwick Anderson & Ian R Mackay, Johns Hopkins University Press)


NSW Community and Regional History Prize

  • The Luck of the Irish: How a Shipload of Convicts Survived the Wreck of the Hive to Make a New Life in Australia (Babette Smith, A&U)


Young People’s History Prize

  • My Gallipoli (Ruth Starke & Robert Hannaford, Penguin)


Multimedia History Prize

  • Brilliant Creatures (Dan Goldberg & Margie Bryant, Mint Pictures).


The awards were presented at a ceremony at the State Library of NSW on 4 September. For more information about the awards, click here.


Category: Local news