Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Queensland Literary Awards 2015 shortlists announced

The shortlists for this year’s Queensland Literary Awards (QLA) have been announced.

The shortlisted titles are:


  • A Short History of Richard Kline (Amanda Lohrey, Black Inc.)
  • The Golden Age (Joan London, Vintage)
  • The Snow Kimono (Mark Henshaw, Text)
  • The Wonder Lover (Malcolm Knox, A&U)
  • To Name Those Lost (Rohan Wilson, A&U)



  • Mannix (Brenda Niall, Text)
  • The Bush (Don Watson, Hamish Hamilton)
  • The Life of I: The New Culture of Narcissism (Anne Manne, MUP)
  • The Wife Drought (Annabel Crabb, Ebury)
  • Thea Astley: Inventing Her Own Weather (Karen Lamb, UQP)


Young adult

  • Are You Seeing Me? (Darren Groth, Woolshed Press)
  • Razorhurst (Justine Larbalestier, A&U)
  • The Minnow (Diana Sweeney, Text)
  • The Pause (John Larkin, Random House)
  • Vanishing Point (Jeri Kroll, Puncher & Wattman)



  • A Single Stone (Meg McKinlay, Walker Books)
  • Figgy in the World (Tasmin Janu, Omnibus)
  • Lucky (David Mackintosh, HarperCollins)



  • ANZAC: The Unauthorised Biography (Carolyn Holbrook, NewSouth)
  • Settler Society in the Australian Colonies: Self-Government and Imperial Culture (Angela Woollacott, OUP)
  • The Invisible History of the Human Race (Christine Kenneally, Black Inc.)
  • Visiting the Neighbours: Australians in Asia (Agnieszka Sobocinska, NewSouth)
  • Warning: The Story of Cyclone Tracy (Sophie Cunningham, Text)


Steele Rudd Award for a Short Story Collection

  • Arms Race: And Other Stories (Nic Low, Text)
  • Bapo (Nick Jose, Giramondo)
  • Heat and Light (Ellen van Neerven, UQP)
  • Merciless Gods (Christos Tsiolkas, A&U)
  • Three Stories (J M Coetzee, Text)


Judith Wright Calanthe Award for a Poetry Collection

  • Beds for All Who Come (Susan Bradley Smith, Five Islands Press)
  • Net Needle (Robert Adamson, Black Inc.)
  • Open House (David Brooks, UQP)
  • The Guardians (Lucy Dougan, Giramondo)
  • Waiting for the Past (Les Murray, Black Inc.)


Queensland Premier’s Award for a Work of State Significance

  • Heat and Light (Ellen van Neerven, UQP)
  • Joe’s Fruit Shop and Milk Bar (Zoe Boccabella, ABC Books)
  • Queensland: Everything You Ever Wanted to Know, But Were Afraid to Ask (Mark Bahnisch, NewSouth)
  • Through the Wall: Reflections on Leadership, Love and Survival (Anna Bligh, HarperCollins)
  • Warrior (Libby Connors, A&U)


Queensland Premier’s Young Publishers and Writers Awards

  • Andrew McMillen
  • Megan McGrath
  • Michelle Law
  • Rebecca Jessen
  • Sam George-Allen


David Unaipon Award for an Unpublished Indigenous Writer

  • ‘The First Octoroon or Report of an Experimental Child’ by Andrew Booth
  • ‘Social Consciousness Series’ by Mayrah Yarragah Dreise 
  • ‘A Question of Colour’ by Patricia Lees with Adam C Lees 


Emerging Queensland Writer Manuscript Award

  • ‘Araluen’ by Imogen Smith
  • ‘Aurora’ by Elizabeth Kasmer 
  • ‘Sargasso’ by K W George 
  • ‘Wool Spin Burn’ by Kate Elkington. 


The shortlist for the Courier-Mail 2015 People’s Choice Queensland Book of the Year Award was announced in August.

The winners in each category will be announced at an awards ceremony on 9 October.

As previously reported by Books+Publishing, this year’s awards include two new categories supported by the Queensland government. The $25,000 Queensland Premier’s Award for a Work of State Significance will ‘recognise writing with a Queensland focus, celebrating important Queensland authors, stories, history and voices’, while two $12,500 Queensland Premier’s Young Publishers and Writers Awards will be presented to Queensland writers aged 18-30.

The QLAs are managed by the State Library of Queensland, which took over from the volunteer QLA Committee in 2014. For more information about the awards, visit the website here


Category: Local news