Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Tasmanian Premier’s Literary Prizes 2015 shortlists announced

The shortlists for the Tasmanian Premier’s Literary Prizes were announced at the opening of the Tasmanian Writers and Readers Festival on 11 September.

The shortlisted titles in each category are:

Tasmania Book Prize for best book with Tasmanian content in any genre ($25,000)

  • The Rise and Fall of Gunns Limited (Quentin Beresford, NewSouth)
  • Forgotten War (Henry Reynolds, NewSouth)
  • To Name Those Lost (Rohan Wilson, A&U)


Margaret Scott Prize for best book by a Tasmanian writer ($5000)

  • What Days Are For (Robert Dessaix, Vintage)
  • The Narrow Road to the Deep North (Richard Flanagan, Vintage)
  • A Short History of Richard Kline (Amanda Lohrey, Black Inc.)
  • To Name Those Lost (Rohan Wilson, A&U)


University of Tasmania Prize for best unpublished manuscript by an emerging Tasmanian writer ($5000)

  • ‘Blue Pollen Beautiful’ by Elizabeth Goodsir
  • ‘Soon’ by Lois Murphy
  • ‘The Party’ by Adam Ouston
  • ‘High Places’ by Ben Walter


Tasmanian Young Writer’s Fellowship ($5000)

  • Robbie Arnott
  • Michael Blake
  • Alena Hrasky


The winners will be announced at an event on 2 December. The biennial awards, previously known as the Tasmanian Literary Prizes, were rebranded in March

As previously reported by Books+Publishing, James Boyce’s 1835: The Founding of Melbourne and the Conquest of Australia (Black Inc.) won the Tasmania Book Prize at the 2013 Tasmanian Literary Prizes, which were presented as part of the Ten Days on the Island festival.

For more information about the Tasmanian Premier’s Literary Prizes, visit the website here.


Category: Local news