Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Nobel Prize for Literature announced on Thursday

The winner of this year’s Nobel Prize for Literature will be announced this Thursday 8 October (7pm AEDT), reports the Guardian. Among the favourites at bookmakers Ladbrokes and Paddy Powers are Belarusian author and journalist Svetlana Alexievich, Japanese author Haruki Murakami, Kenyan author Ngugi wa Thiong’o, US authors Philip Roth and Joyce Carol Oates, and Irish author John Banville. Ladbrokes’ Alex Donohue said Hungarian writer Laszlo Krasznahorkai and Korean poet Ko Un have both emerged as ‘dark horses’ this year, with their odds recently shifting to 25/1 and 20/1 respectively. Each year, between 600 and 700 nominations are sought, with the Novel Committee whittling down the list to around 200 before the winner is chosen by the 18-member Swedish Academy.


Category: International news