Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Waverley Library Award 2015 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 2015 Waverley Library Award for Literature, known as ‘the Nib’, has been announced.

The shortlisted titles are:

  • The Director is the Commander (Anna Broinowski, Viking)
  • John Olsen (Darleen Bungey, ABC Books)
  • Warning: The Story of Cyclone Tracy (Sophie Cunningham, Text)
  • The Nashos’ War (Mark Dapin, Viking)
  • Acute Misfortune: The Life and Death of Adam Cullen (Erik Jensen, Black Inc.)
  • Blood and Guts: Dispatches from the Whale Wars (Sam Vincent, Black Inc.).


The winner will be announced on 25 November. The winner will receive a cash price of $20,000 and each of the shortlisted authors will receive the Alex Buzo Shortlist Prize of $1000. The winner of the People’s Choice Award will also receive $1000. Voting for the People’s Choice Award is now open.

The Waverley Library Award was established in 2002 to recognise the role of research in fiction and nonfiction. Last year’s prize was awarded to Clare Wright for her book The Forgotten Rebels of Eureka (Text).

For more information about the award, visit the Waverley Library website here.


Category: Local news