Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Samuel Johnson Prize 2015 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the Samuel Johnson Prize for Nonfiction has been announced. The six shortlisted titles, chosen from a longlist of 12, are: Ted Hughes: The Unauthorised Life (Jonathan Bate, Flamingo); Landmarks (Robert Macfarlane, Hamish Hamilton); The Four-Dimensional Human (Laurence Scott, William Heinemann); Neurotribes: The Legacy of Autism and How to Think Smarter about People Who Think Differently (Steve Silberman, A&U); The Unravelling (Emma Sky, Atlantic Books) and This Divided Island (Samanth Subramanian, Atlantic Books). Chair of judges Anne Applebaum said the shortlist ‘includes some exceptional books, which capture—among other things—the politics of troubled countries, the relationship of life to poetry, the historical understanding of neurodevelopmental disorders and the nature of the new digital world’. The winner of the £20,000 (A$41,855) prize—the richest prize for nonfiction in the UK—will be announced on 2 November. Each of the shortlisted authors also receives £1000 (A$2093). For more information, click here.


Category: International news