Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Queensland Literary Awards 2015 winners announced

The winners of this year’s Queensland Literary Awards (QLA) were announced at a ceremony at the State Library of Queensland on 9 October.

The winners in each category are:


  • The Golden Age (Joan London, Vintage)



  • The Bush (Don Watson, Hamish Hamilton)


Young adult

  • The Pause (John Larkin, Random House)



  • A Single Stone (Meg McKinlay, Walker Books)



  • ANZAC: The Unauthorised Biography (Carolyn Holbrook, NewSouth)


Steele Rudd Award for a Short Story Collection

  • Merciless Gods (Christos Tsiolkas, A&U)


Judith Wright Calanthe Award for a Poetry Collection

  • Waiting for the Past (Les Murray, Black Inc.)


Queensland Premier’s Award for a Work of State Significance

  • Warrior (Libby Connors, A&U)


Queensland Premier’s Young Publishers and Writers Awards

  • Megan McGrath
  • Rebecca Jessen


David Unaipon Award for an Unpublished Indigenous Writer

  • ‘The First Octoroon or Report of an Experimental Child’ by Andrew Booth


Emerging Queensland Writer Manuscript Award

  • ‘Aurora’ by Elizabeth Kasmer 


The People’s Choice Queensland Book of the Year Award

  • On the Road… with Kids (John Ahern, Macmillan).


The winners were chosen from the shortlists announced in September.

As previously reported by Books+Publishing, this year’s awards include two new categories supported by the Queensland government: the $25,000 Queensland Premier’s Award for a Work of State Significance, which recognises ‘writing with a Queensland focus, celebrating important Queensland authors, stories, history and voices’; and two $12,500 Queensland Premier’s Young Publishers and Writers Awards for Queensland writers aged 18-30.

The QLAs are managed by the State Library of Queensland, which took over from the volunteer QLA Committee in 2014. For more information about the awards, visit the website here


Category: Local news