Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Six Oz, two NZ authors and illustrators nominated for 2016 Astrid Lindgren Award

Six Australians and two New Zealanders have been nominated for the 2016 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award.

Australians Ursula Dubosarsky, Libby Gleeson, Morris Gleitzman, Alison Lester, Melina Marchetta and Markus Zusak are among the 215 nominees for the 2016 award. It is the third year in a row Dubosarsky and Gleitzman have been nominated, and the second year in a row for Gleeson.

New Zealand author Joy Cowley and author and illustrator Lynley Dodd are also in the running for the award. Both Cowley and Dodd were nominated in 2014 and in 2015.

The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award is the largest international children’s and young adult literature award in the world and carries with it a cash prize of five million krona (A$828,500).

The winner of the 2016 award will be announced on 5 April in Stockholm to coincide with the 2016 Bologna Children’s Book Fair.

Two Australian authors have previously won the Astrid Lindgren Award: author and illustrator Shaun Tan in 2011 and author Sonya Hartnett in 2008.

A complete list of nominees is available online here.



Category: Local news