Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

YABBAs 2015 winners announced

The winners of the Young Australian’s Best Book Awards (YABBAs), Victoria’s children’s choice awards, have been announced for 2015.

The winning titles are:

Picture storybooks

  • Pig the Pug (Aaron Blabey, Scholastic)


Fiction for younger readers

  • You Choose: The Treasure of Dead Man’s Cove (George Ivanoff, Random House)


Fiction for older readers

  • The 52-Storey Treehouse (Andy Griffiths & Terry Denton, Pan)


Fiction for years 7-9

  • Two Wolves (Tristan Bancks, Random House).


The awards were presented at Sacré Cœur School in Melbourne on 27 October.

The Graham Davey Citation, presented in memory of former YABBA president Graham Davey, was awarded to Richard Bennett for his long-time support of the YABBAs. The citation recognises ‘a person and/or work that through craft or contribution has made an impact on children’s literature’. 

The winners of this year’s awards were selected from the Reading & Enjoying Australian Literature (REAL) Awards shortlist, which also acts as a shortlist for the children’s choice awards in the Australian Capital Territory (COOL Awards), New South Wales (KOALAs) and the Northern Territory (KROC Awards).

For more information about the YABBAs, visit the website here.


Category: Junior Local news