Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Griffiths awarded 2015 Dromkeen Medal

Children’s book author Andy Griffiths was awarded the 2015 Dromkeen Medal at the State Library of Victoria (SLV) on 29 October.

Acting CEO and state librarian Justine Hyde said Griffiths ‘has devoted his career to making kids laugh and encouraging even reluctant readers to learn to love reading, and beyond his books he is also extraordinarily generous in working directly with young people’.

Griffiths is the author of 28 books, including the bestselling ‘Treehouse’ series (Pan), which he created with long-time collaborators Jill Griffiths and Terry Denton.

The Dromkeen Librarian’s Award was presented to City of Darwin children’s and youth services librarian Rosario Martinez. Martinez has led the annual Young Territory Author Awards program to support emerging Northern Territory writers, and pioneered a number of storytime programs across Darwin libraries.

The Dromkeen Medal is presented annually to an Australian citizen for a ‘significant contribution to the appreciation and development of children’s literature in Australia’.


Category: Local news