Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

PM’s Literary Awards 2015 shortlists announced

The shortlists for this year’s Prime Minister’s Literary Awards have been announced.

The shortlisted titles in each of the categories are:


  • Amnesia (Peter Carey, Hamish Hamilton)
  • In Certain Circles (Elizabeth Harrower, Text)
  • Golden Boys (Sonya Hartnett, Hamish Hamilton)
  • The Golden Age (Joan London, Vintage)
  • To Name Those Lost (Rohan Wilson, A&U)


  • Devadatta’s Poems (Judith Beveridge, Giramondo)
  • Exhibits of the Sun (Stephen Edgar, Black Pepper)
  • Poems 1957-2013 (Geoffrey Lehmann, UWA Publishing)
  • Earth Hour (David Malouf, UQP)
  • Towards the Equator: New & Selected Poems (Alex Skovron, Puncher & Wattmann)


  • John Olsen: An Artist’s Life (Darleen Bungey, HarperCollins)
  • Private Bill (Barrie Cassidy, MUP)
  • This House of Grief (Helen Garner, Text)
  • Encountering the Pacific: In the Age of Enlightenment (John Gascoigne, Cambridge University Press)
  • Wild Bleak Bohemia: Marcus Clarke, Adam Lindsay Gordon and Henry Kendall (Michael Wilding, Australian Scholarly Publishing)

Australian history

  • The Europeans in Australia: Volume Three: Nation (Alan Atkinson, NewSouth)
  • Descent into Hell (Peter Brune, A&U)
  • Charles Bean (Ross Coulthart, HarperCollins)
  • Menzies at War (Anne Henderson, NewSouth)
  • The Spy Catchers: The Official History of ASIO Vol 1 (David Horner, A&U)

Young adult fiction

  • Are You Seeing Me? (Darren Groth, Woolshed Press)
  • The Astrologer’s Daughter (Rebecca Lim, Text)
  • Tigers on the Beach (Doug MacLeod, Penguin)
  • The Minnow (Diana Sweeney, Text)
  • The Protected (Claire Zorn, UQP)

Children’s fiction

  • Two Wolves (Tristan Bancks, Random House)
  • My Dad is a Bear (Nicola Connelly, illus by Annie White, New Frontier)
  • My Two Blankets (Irena Kobald, illus by Freya Blackwood, Little Hare)
  • One Minute’s Silence (David Metzenthen, illus by Michael Camilleri, A&U)
  • Withering-by-Sea (Judith Rossell, ABC Books).

The winners in each category will receive $80,000 tax-free, and the shortlisted authors will receive $5000 tax-free. The date for the winners announcement is yet to be released.

The judges for the 2015 awards were announced earlier this year.

This year’s Prime Minister’s Literary Awards were open to books published in 2014. For more information about the awards, click here.



Category: Local news