Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Jensen wins 2015 Waverley Library Award

Erik Jensen has won the 2015 Waverley Library Award for Literature, known as the ‘Nib’, for his book Acute Misfortune (Black Inc.).

Wright was presented with the award, worth $20,000, at a function in Sydney on 25 November. Mark Dapin won People’s Choice Award, worth $1000, for his book The Nasho’s War (Viking) and Peter Rees won the inaugural Anzac Centenary Literary Prize for his book Bearing Witness (A&U).

Acute Misfortune was chosen from a shortlist of six, which also included The Director is the Commander (Anna Broinowski, Viking), John Olsen (Darleen Bungey, ABC Books), Warning: The Story of Cyclone Tracy (Sophie Cunningham, Text), The Nashos’ War (Mark Dapin, Viking) and Blood and Guts: Dispatches from the Whale Wars (Sam Vincent, Black Inc.). Each of the shortlisted authors received the Alex Buzo Shortlist Prize of $1000.

The Waverley Library Award was established in 2002 to recognise the role of research in fiction and nonfiction. Last year’s prize was awarded to Clare Wright for her book The Forgotten Rebels of Eureka (Text).

For more information about the award, visit the Waverley Library website here.


Category: Local news