Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Tasmanian Premier’s Literary Prizes 2015 winners announced

The winners of this year’s Tasmanian Premier’s Literary Prizes were announced at a ceremony at Government House in Hobart on 2 December.

The winning titles in each category are:

Tasmania Book Prize for best book with Tasmanian content in any genre ($25,000)

  • The Rise and Fall of Gunns Limited (Quentin Beresford, NewSouth)

Margaret Scott Prize for best book by a Tasmanian writer ($5000)

  • The Narrow Road to the Deep North (Richard Flanagan, Vintage)

University of Tasmania Prize for best unpublished manuscript by an emerging Tasmanian writer ($5000)

  •  ‘Soon’ by Lois Murphy

Tasmanian Young Writer’s Fellowship ($5000)

  • Robbie Arnott.

The people’s choice awards were also announced on the night. Rohan Wilson’s To Name Those Lost (A&U) won in the Tasmania Book Prize category, Flanagan’s The Narrow Road to the Deep North won in the Margaret Scott Prize category and Elizabeth Goodsir’s ‘Blue Pollen Beautiful’ won in the best unpublished manuscript category. In total, 844 votes were lodged in the people’s choice awards.

The biennial Tasmanian Premier’s Literary Prizes, previously known as the Tasmanian Literary Prizes, were rebranded in March.

For more information about the awards, visit the website here.



Category: Local news