Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Express Media Awards 2015 winners announced, Kat Muscat fellowship launched

The winners of the 2015 Express Media Awards have been announced.

Ellen van Neerven and Chloe Higgins jointly won the inaugural Outstanding Achievement by a Young Person in the Literary Arts Award, which recognises young Australians under 30 years of age who have shown ‘excellence in the literary arts’.

Higgins and van Neerven were chosen from a shortlist of five writers, which also included Eliza Henry-Jones, Helen Scheuerer and Jane Howard.

Patrick Mullins won the 2015 Scribe Nonfiction Prize, and winners were also announced for the John Marsden/Hachette Australia Prize for Young Writers.

The evening also saw the launch of the inaugural Kat Muscat Fellowship for female-identifying young writers and editors. Named in honour of former Voiceworks editor Kat Muscat, the fellowship will offer professional development up to the value of $3000 for an editorial or writing project.

Express Media said the recipient of the fellowship will take up Muscat’s ‘notion of challenge: exploring bold subjects, thinking deeply and critically about the world … and reflecting and building on the craft of writing or editing’. Applications are now open and will close on 11 January 2016.

A full list of winners from the evening is available here. For more information about the fellowship, visit the Express Media website here.


Category: Local news