Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

ASA announces 2015-16 mentorship recipients

The Australian Society of Authors (ASA) has announced the recipients of its 2015-16 mentorships for emerging writers and illustrators.

  • Elizabeth Bryer (nonfiction)
  • Steve Fraser (fiction)
  • Denise Cummins (fiction)
  • June Perkins (children’s)
  • Alison Quigley (fiction)
  • Nadine Craneburgh (YA)
  • Scott Williamson (YA)
  • Claire Roberts (poetry)
  • Siang Lu (fiction)
  • Jake Goetz (poetry)
  • Amber Moffat (children’s)
  • Frances Olive (children’s).

In addition, Marian McGuinness was awarded the Edel Wignell Mentorship for children’s writing.

Each of the 13 successful applicants will receive 25 hours of mentorship to develop a work-in-progress and a follow-up consultation to assist with submissions to publishers or agents.

Five applicants were also highly commended. They are:

  • Vanessa Fairbrother (YA)
  • Orsolya Parkanyi (nonfiction)
  • Patrick Thwaites (YA)
  • Rowena Sierant (fiction)
  • Melissa Manning (fiction).

The ASA’s annual mentorship program, which is supported by the Copyright Agency’s Cultural Fund, is designed to give writers and illustrations an opportunity to develop a work-in-progress to a publishable standard. For more information about this year’s recipients, visit the ASA website here.



Category: Local news