Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Stella Prize 2016 longlist announced

The longlist for the fourth Stella Prize has been announced.

This year’s longlisted titles are:

  • The Women’s Pages (Debra Adelaide, Picador)
  • The Other Side of the World (Stephanie Bishop, Hachette)
  • Panthers and the Museum of Fire (Jen Craig, Spineless Wonders)
  • Six Bedrooms (Tegan Bennett Daylight, Vintage)
  • Hope Farm (Peggy Frew, Scribe)
  • A Few Days in the Country: And Other Stories (Elizabeth Harrower, Text)
  • A Guide to Berlin (Gail Jones, Vintage)
  • The World Without Us (Mireille Juchau, Bloomsbury)
  • A Short History of Richard Kline (Amanda Lohrey, Black Inc.)
  • Anchor Point (Alice Robinson, Affirm Press)
  • The Natural Way of Things (Charlotte Wood, A&U)
  • Small Acts of Disappearance: Essays on Hunger (Fiona Wright, Giramondo).

The shortlist will be announced on 10 March and the winner will be announced in Sydney on 19 April. The winner of this year’s award will receive a cash prize of $50,000.

This year’s prize is judged by author and academic Brenda Walker (chair), writer Emily Maguire, writer Alice Pung, critic Geordie Williamson and bookseller Suzy Wilson.

Walker said in a statement that the longlist ‘demonstrates the current strength of Australian women’s narrative, featuring both highly accomplished new writers and many works that represent a culmination of the skills of established writers’.

The Stella Prize is presented for the best work of fiction or nonfiction by an Australian women published in the previous calendar year. The prize is named after Miles Franklin, whose first name was Stella, and was inspired by the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction.

As previously reported by Books+Publishing, Emily Bitto won the 2015 Stella Prize for her novel The Strays (Affirm).



Category: Local news