Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

writingWA Awards 2015 winners announced

The winners of the 2015 writingWA Awards, which support emerging writers based in regional Western Australia, have been announced.

Marc Simojoki was awarded the Curtin University Prize for Fiction for his manuscript The Sea Dog. The award includes a cash prize of $6000 and mentoring and editorial guidance.

Veronica Malone received the State Library of Western Australia Prize for WA History, worth $6000, for her manuscript on the history of the Batavia Coast.

The awards were judged by Curtin University senior lecturer and author David Whish-Wilson and editor Delys Bird.

‘The diversity of projects being tackled by aspiring writers in regional WA will contribute significantly to the documentation and preservation of our State’s history,’ said state librarian Margaret Allen. ‘The State Library is particularly pleased to be supporting this development process.’

The 2016 writingWA Awards will open for submissions in July. For more information, visit the writingWA website here.



Category: Local news