Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Ditmar Awards 2016 ballot announced

The ballot for the 2016 Ditmar Awards has been announced.

The shortlisted works include:

Best Novel

  • The Dagger’s Path (Glenda Larke, Orbit)
  • Day Boy (Trent Jamieson, Text)
  • Graced (Amanda Pillar, Momentum)
  • Lament for the Afterlife (Lisa L Hannett, ChiZine Publications)
  • Zeroes (Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan, & Deborah Biancotti, A&U)

Best Novella or Novelette

  • ‘The Cherry Crow Children of Haverny Wood’ by Deborah Kalin in Cherry Crow Children (Twelfth Planet)
  • ‘Fake Geek Girl’ by Tansy Rayner Roberts in Review of Australian Fiction, Volume 14, Issue 4 (Review of Australian Fiction)
  • ‘Hot Rods’ by Cat Sparks in Lightspeed Science Fiction & Fantasy 58 (Lightspeed Science Fiction & Fantasy)
  • ‘The Miseducation of Mara Lys’ by Deborah Kalin in Cherry Crow Children (Twelfth Planet)
  • ‘Of Sorrow and Such’ by Angela Slatter (
  • ‘The Wages of Honey’ by Deborah Kalin in Cherry Crow Children (Twelfth Planet)

Best Short Story

  • ‘2B’ by Joanne Anderton in Insert Title Here (FableCroft Publishing)
  • ‘The Chart of the Vagrant Mariner’ by Alan Baxter in Fantasy & Science Fiction, Jan/Feb 2015 (Fantasy & Science Fiction)
  • ‘A Hedge of Yellow Roses’ by Kathleen Jennings in Hear Me Roar (Ticonderoga)
  • ‘Look How Cold My Hands Are’ by Deborah Biancotti in Cranky Ladies of History (FableCroft Publishing)

Best Collected Work

  • Bloodlines (Amanda Pillar, Ticonderoga)
  • Cherry Crow Children (Deborah Kalin, ed by Alisa Krasnostein, Twelfth Planet)
  • Cranky Ladies of History (ed by Tansy Rayner Roberts & Tehani Wessely, FableCroft Publishing)
  • Letters to Tiptree (ed by Alexandra Pierce & Alisa Krasnostein, Twelfth Planet)
  • Peripheral Visions: The Collected Ghost Stories (Robert Hood, IFWG Publishing Australia).

The full preliminary ballot, including shortlists in several other categories, is available here. The final ballot will include a ‘No Award’ option in each category. ‘Interested and knowledgeable persons’ who notice discrepancies in the preliminary ballot are encouraged to contact the Ditmar subcommittee.

Established in 1969, the Ditmar Awards recognise achievement in Australian science-fiction, fantasy and horror. Voting for the awards is open to members of the 2015 Australian National Science Fiction Convention: Swancon 40, which was held in Perth from 2-6 April 2015, and the 2016 Australian National Science Fiction Convention: Contact, to be held in Brisbane from 25-28 March. Voting closes on 18 March. The winners will be announced at the Contact convention.

To see the winners of last year’s awards, click here.



Category: Local news