Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Aurealis Awards 2015 finalists announced

The finalists for the 2015 Aurealis Awards, presented for science-fiction, fantasy and horror writing in Australia, have been announced.

Among the categories are:

Fantasy novel

  • In the Skin of a Monster (Kathryn Barker, A&U)
  • Lady Helen and the Dark Days Club (Alison Goodman, HarperCollins)
  • Day Boy (Trent Jamieson, Text)
  • The Dagger’s Path (Glenda Larke, Hachette)
  • Tower of Thorns (Juliet Marillier, Macmillan)
  • Skin (Ilka Tampke, Text)

Science-fiction novel

  • Crossed (Evelyn Blackwell, self-published)
  • Clade (James Bradley, Hamish Hamilton)
  • Illuminae (Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff, A&U)
  • Their Fractured Light (Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner, A&U)
  • Renegade (Joel Shepherd, self-published)
  • Twinmaker: Fall (Sean Williams, A&U)

Young adult novel

  • In the Skin of a Monster (Kathryn Barker, A&U)
  • Lady Helen and the Dark Days Club (Alison Goodman, HarperCollins)
  • The Fire Sermon (Francesca Haig, HarperVoyager)
  • Day Boy (Trent Jamieson, Text)
  • Illuminae (Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff, A&U)
  • The Hush (Skye Melki Wagner, Random House)

Children’s book

  • A Week Without Tuesday (Angelica Banks, A&U)
  • The CutOut (Jack Heath, A&U)
  • A Single Stone (Meg McKinlay, Walker Books)
  • Bella and the Wandering House (Meg McKinlay, Fremantle Press)
  • The Mapmaker Chronicles: Prisoner of the Black Hawk (A L Tait, Hachette)

Inaugural Sara Douglass book series award

  • ‘The Chronicles of King Rolen’s Kin’ (Rowena Cory Daniells, Solaris Press)
  • ‘The Watergivers’ (Glenda Larke, HarperVoyager)
  • ‘The Lumatere Chronicles’ (Melina Marchetta, Penguin Random House)
  • Sevenwaters (Juliet Marillier, Pan Macmillan)
  • ‘The Laws of Magic’ (Michael Pryor, Penguin Random House)
  • ‘Creature Court’ (Tansy Rayner Roberts, HarperVoyager).

The full list of finalists in 15 categories, including three new categories for novella-length science-fiction, fantasy and horror fiction, is available here.

The finalists were selected from over 750 entries, with judging coordinator Tehani Wessely commenting that organisers are ‘gratified to see that publishing models of all types and sizes are well represented in the shortlists, reflecting the general entry trend’.

The winners of the 2015 Aurealis Awards will be announced at a ceremony on 25 March at the Jen Hotel in Brisbane.

To see the winners of last year’s Aurealis Awards, click here.



Category: Local news