Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

PRH acquires supernatural YA series ‘Valentine’ from AAPS

Penguin Random House Australia has acquired the rights to debut author Jodi McAlister’s supernatural YA series ‘Valentine’ in a multi-book deal from Alex Adsett Publishing Services.

The series follows four teenagers who were all born on the same Valentine’s Day 17 years ago, and as they begin to disappear, two of the teenagers, Pearl and Finn, ‘have to stop fighting long enough to work out what in the supernatural hell is going on before it happens to them’.

In a statement, agent Alex Adsett described the series as ‘a smart, witty contemporary YA for fans of Holly Black and Maggie Stiefvater’, and said McAlister is ‘an exciting new talent’.

McAlister, who signed with Alex Adsett Publishing Services in late 2015, is a romance academic and a contributor to Pan Macmillan’s Momentum Moonlight blog.

The first book in the series will be published in 2017.

 

Category: Junior Local news Rights and acquisitions

 

Transit Lounge Almost a Mirror