Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

PEN Pinter Prize opens to Commonwealth writers

The PEN Pinter Prize, awarded annually to a writer of ‘outstanding literary merit’, has extended its eligibility to include Commonwealth and Irish writers, after previously being open only to British writers, reports the Bookseller. The award, which was established in 2009 in memory of playwright Harold Pinter, recognises a writer who shows a ‘fierce intellectual determination to define the real truth of our lives and our societies’. The winner is required to give a lecture or public performance at the award ceremony on 13 October at the British Library, and each year the winner nominates an International Writer of Courage, chosen from a shortlist presented by English PEN, to share the prize.


Category: International news